Fall is the season to learn something new

What I like about the first day of a new season is the opportunity to start fresh.  The fall season in particular is a good time to reflect but more importantly take those to-do list and put them into action before another year creeps up to you.  Few months ago, I met a Japanese woman and she was writing a guide book on specific neighborhoods in New York City.  She had asked me for some suggestions on places that I would recommend and so I did.  Few weeks later she had took my suggestion and did a coverage at the location and was very pleased.   She had then asked me for more recommendations in which I did not mind and quite frankly I was rather flattered that my opinion mattered and I enjoyed sharing the places I find that are uniquely New York.

This week I finally checked out The Brooklyn Kitchen with a modern day hip butcher shop in the back The Meat Hook.  I went to an afternoon of hard cider making and tasting and history crash course at The Brooklyn Kitchen. Where we were treated with several sips from Farnum Hill and Eve Cider.  My first hard apple cider ever was from Finger Lakes, Bellwether Cider.  Hard apple cider is very much like sparkling apple cider but for the grown ups with the alcohol content.   It was only recently, I’ve begun to notice hard apple cider on the shelves and even at the corner of the bodega store for a less classy version, Woodchuck produced in Middlebury, Vermont.  I bought a bottle for $1.75 and it’s a great Sunday pre-dinner kickback drink with reruns of a television sitcom and a nap is the formula to satisfaction.

The Brooklyn Kitchen, located near the Brooklyn, Queens Expressway is one amazing place.   With a general store atmosphere in the front and upstairs where you can find modern kitchen ware from authentic Le Creuset pots and pans (Made in France not Thailand!), pasta maker, to coffee pour overs.  Another section is a cute touch, their limited quantity of produce, cheeses, and fill your own olive oils.  Right in the back is a butcher shop The Meat Hook with a variety of meats, sausages and charcuteries from local farms.  What makes The Brooklyn Kitchen so well known is their well-designed workshops.  There is a class for just about anything and for anyone as long as you love food.   Upcoming scheduled classes includes pasta making, knife skills, pie making, cheese making, you name it!   Prices for each class ranges from $35 – $150 per class and it is taken place in their test kitchen, which is a dream kitchen with all the tools and gadgets provided.  I know I’ll be back very soon.

As we enter a new season here’s a preview on my to- do list this Fall:

TO DINE AT:

April Bloomfield’s The Breslin, Marcus Samuelson’s Red Rooster, Brunch at Roberta’s

TO MASTER IN MAKING:

Ravioli, Pie Crust, Chocolate croissant

KITCHEN TOOL I WANT MY HANDS ON:

Le Creuset Dutch Oven, Pasta maker, Hario hand milled coffee grinder

MISCELLANEOUS WISH LIST:

Leica Digital Camera

PROJECTS ON THE HORIZON:

To embark on a coffee column.

Leave a comment