Beyond 5 Boroughs Travel, New York City Eats

Hot! Hot! Hot!

AUG 3, 2010: Last Tuesday I met up with four of my friends including myself were 5 for 5 Knapkin Burger.Β  Ever since walking by this corner restaurant on 9th avenue Hell’s Kitchen early summer I couldn’t stopped thinking about it, it was love at first sight.Β  5 Knapkin Burger, Hell’s Kitchen is one of three locations in New York City, with the other two on the Upper West Side and Astoria, Queens.Β  It was packed on a Tuesday night and being packed is a positive sign that it had to be good.Β  Since college I had stopped consuming beef, for religious and for health reasons and quite frankly I never crave for beef or beef burger.Β  It has become part of my diet but occasionally I do crave for a burger and 5 Knapkin burger stands apart from Shake Shack, Good Burger, BRGR, BLT, etc with the creative alternative options they serve.Β  These alternative options are rather innovative and mighty delicious!Β  I ordered the Ahi Tuna Burger with a fried tempura onion, wasabi mayo on a sesame egg roll bun.Β  Rarely do I see Tuna burgers on the menu so I was very curious to try one.Β  The waiter asked me how I liked my tuna steak so I had requested for a medium rare and holy cow it was cooked to perfection.Β  I cut the burger in half then into a quarter to trade for Cynthia’s exotic Lamb Kofta burger and it reminded me of delicious Chinese pork dumplings and the other quarter I traded for Anita’s Turkey burger and I think it was by far the best Turkey burger I have had in I don’t recall when.Β  The Turkey burger was outstanding, the meat tasted clean, fresh, healthy and herbal white turkey meat unlike places that I had claims to be turkey but makes you wonder…really?Β  Michelle had the original 10oz beef burger and Jane had the inside out burger which anti-carb friendly and for vegetarians out there, 5 Knapkin Burgers did not single out onΒ  with their version.Β  5 stars for 5 Knapkin Burgers!

AUG 7, 2010: Later in the week, my sister has been itching to go out of the city since our trip back from Maine.Β  So we made a visit to our neighboring state, New Jersey for a county fair and a hot air balloon festival.Β  Summer is nearly ending with the scorching heat wave but the best thing I have eaten this summer is Cajun Corn cob at the fair for only $2!Β  It is no surprise how fresh and sweet the corn is since the abundant acres of cornfields on our drive to the festival.Β  Eating locally certainly tastes different and supporting a local farmer feels good too.Β  The corn was prepared by washing off the husk then it was thrown into an outdoor roaster and finally brushed with melted butter and seasoned with cajun spice…mmm.Β  We later enjoyed the 30 hot air balloon all simultaneously inflate and departed one by one dancing into the sunset.

Address:

5 Knapkin Burger/// 630 9th Avenue 45th Street New York NY 10036

Standard

Leave a Reply

