Events

51 Weeks till 2011

I only found out yesterday that there are only 52 weeks in a year.  The number 52 is sort of disheartening. There is not enough weeks to accomplish everything that I want to accomplish on my 100 Things to Do list for 2010.  No wonder I have so many rollovers from 2009 that still remain undone, such as try Ippudo!

I finally watched Nora Ephron’s Julie & Julia!  It was the one of two movies I watched over the first New Year weekend, along with Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian.  A mainstream Hollywood Amy Adam flick weekend.  Both of the films had a message I could relate to.  In Night at the Museum: BOS a sequel continues where the first Night a the Museum ended except Ben Stiller’s character Larry Daley have left his position as a night guard at the Museum of Natural History for a corporate, suit and tie career.  Rather only revolving on the museum coming to life, the message of the sequel maybe deeper for the younger viewers but is simple and that is, “the key to happiness…”  What is the key to happiness?  Ben Stiller’s character realizes at the end the answer to the deep question that “it is doing what you love most.”  Or according to Franklin D. Rosevelt, “physical exercise.”  If the key to happiness is doing what you love most, I have yet to do so.  Which leads to the film, Julie & Julia.  I had a general idea of the plot beforehand on the character Julie Powell, an office worker who loathes her job and decides to start a foodblog on cooking through Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking in one year, (sounds a little bit like myself).   Julia Child’s part was based on her memoir, My Life in  France and Nora Ephron interlink the two.  I thought the film was enjoyable.  I liked how Julia Child’s was an inspiration and a guidance that uplifted Julie Powell during her life crisis and I liked how the film celebrated the cheerfulness Julia Child had toward cooking, life and spread that emotion to people who surrounded her which is a very empowering trait to  have.   I wished I had grown up watching Julia Child or I could catch up on youtube.

On my 2010, 100 Things to do list :

#32: To travel to Asia to reconnect with my Asian roots.

#19: To eat at Blue Ribbon Bakery.

#42 Learn to knit and sew with a sewing machine.

#4 Pickup on Japanese phrases.

#25 Cook more and on top of my 2010 100 Things to do list is to discover what I want to do and what I love to do most or as Julia Child’s answers, “Eat!”

Standard

Leave a Reply

