Homemade

PIE TIME!

Chelsea Market

Everyone who grew up and lived in New York City never had the privilege of going trick-or-treating like the suburban kids did. Β Fortunately, my brother was living with my aunt and uncle during his high school days in Flemington, New Jersey and would go trick-or-treating with two of my cousins. Β My brother would bring a paper bag Β full of candies when he visited during the weekend after Halloween. It will be a paper bag full of Snickers, Twix, 3 Musketeers, Kit Kats, Smarties, and my favorite was suspense in a Halloween decorated goody bag. Β This will last my sister and I a year.

Now, the spotlight on Halloween is more than the candy but the pumpkin flavors found in other sweet tooth favorites.Β  My favorite is the Starbucks Pumpkin Spiced soy with whip cream latte and I have not had the chance to make a stop at Sundaes & Cones but I hear they have Pumpkin flavored ice cream that I am eager to get my hands on. Β  Pumpkin is a versatile squash and can be used best for soups and more traditionally a pie! Β  This recipe is good for Β 2x 10 inches pie. Here is the recipe I used for my pumpkin pie:

Pumpkin Pie

Pie Crust from Bon Appetit November 2009 (page 144)

2 +1/4 cups all purpose flour

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt

1 cup ( 2 sticks) chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/4 inch cubes

1/4 cup (or more) ice water

//////////////////////////

Pumpkin Filling: Β To save time from carving, oven baked followed by puree the pumpkin, I cheated by using Libby’s canned already puree pumpkin and it comes with a convenient and decent recipe on the can or found on the website. Happy Halloween!

Standard

2 thoughts on “PIE TIME!

Leave a Reply

